header header

Webinar:
Power Components for Battery Applications
Tuesday, 4 April at 8am San Francisco, 11am Boston, 4pm London.
Presented by Travis Williams Senior Manager; Product Management and Marketing
 

Today, many systems from electric vehicles and home energy storage to communications infrastructure, use batteries to enable portable power or provide a fall back in the event that mains power fails. If demands for batteries continue to grow, engineers need an easier approach to designing battery-powered systems. In particular, the output voltage of batteries can vary significantly; power systems must deliver constant voltage to the load and act as a current source to charge the battery; and there is a continual demand for higher efficiency.

This webinar explains how flexible power components can be used to shorten the design cycle, simplify the power system and reduce cost, weight and size while increasing efficiency.

 

Topics covered include:

  • Why wide input and output voltage ranges are important
  • How to design scalable power systems to meet current and future needs
  • Reducing costs by using flexible components
  • Maximizing power density and efficiency in systems with batteries

 

About the Presenter

Travis Williams has extensive experience of power electronics design. He has worked at Vicor for two years and previously held a variety of engineering roles for 14 years. His patents include one to estimate the state of charge of a battery, and he holds a BSEE from Brigham Young University and an MBA from the University of Southern Maine.

 

Who Should Attend?

This webinar is relevant to any engineer who is responsible for developing systems that use batteries to deliver more than a few Watts. It will also interest technical managers who would like to understand how new approaches to power system design can enhance battery-based systems.

 

Please complete the form below to register for the webinar on Tuesday 4 April at 8am San Francisco, 11am Boston, 4pm London.

 

If this time is not convenient for you, please click here to register for the earlier session (8am Boston, 1pm London, 2pm Berlin, 5:30pm Bangalore)

This webinar will also be presented in German on Wednesday, 3 May (10am Berlin).

 

There is no charge to attend, but you must register in advance. If you are unable to attend, please do sign up anyway, and we will send you details of how to access the recording of the presentation when it is available.